The “Sound” of Modern Rock Records

Posted: August 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been a little while since my last post.  Sorry about that.  I guess not much has been going on in Justin’s audio world to warrant a post.  Been pretty much the status quo lately.

Today I was listening to a few modern rock recordings on the internet and it reminded me that sometimes I beat myself up when I can’t get a record sounding how I would like it to sound (slick, perfect modern records).  But then I thought to myself…WHY do I want my records to sound like that?  I really don’t like the sound/style of most modern rock records!  They’re full of pitch/time perfect/sample replaced artificial production.  At first I thought it was amazing.  But as time passes every modern rock record starts sounding the same!  Foo Fighter’s last record “Wasting Light”  was a much needed departure from the usual.  THAT record sounds phenomenal in my opinion.

I’ve heard a few engineers equate it to eating McDonalds day in and day out.  At first it’s really good, but after a little while you would start getting sick.  REAL food begins to taste amazing again.  I think that’s the perfect analogy.

Obviously there is nothing we can do about it.  But I’m curious (now that we’re officially in the next decade of the 2000’s) what this decade has in store for the state of music and production.  I think we’re all pretty much tired of the past “lost decade”.

It’s time to move on!

 

 

Leave a Reply

