Audio Engineers bitch too much.

Posted: August 19, 2010 in Pro Tools

I finally realized why I ended up being an audio engineer.  The field is full of complainers…….and I’m a complainer.  It all makes sense now.  The field is completely suited to my personality.

I realized this yesterday when I was checking out Gearslutz.com.  I don’t know why I read this audio forum.  It’s probably the biggest one on the internet, with the most users, but unfortunately that means you have to sort through all the uninformed, highly opinionated, unchanging, and uneducated posts from weekend warriors and hobbyists who just regurgitate more uninformed information from their hobbyist counterparts.  As mixerman put it: “The blind leading the blind”.

Sure there are professionals posting that have been doing this MUCH longer than I have, but those people are severely outnumbered.  I’m not saying the less experienced shouldn’t post, but should be a little more humble. I personally prefer the Womb forums, but that one is slowly dying.

Anyway, back to the point at hand. A few posts came up about the new Avid Pro Tools HD hardware. Immediately, the trolls came out of the woodwork. People (mostly NON-Pro Tools users of course) are complaining about how much it sucks without even using it.

“It costs too much”
“Native is better”
“It took too long to release”
“It’s still not as good as Apogee, Lucid, whatever converter”

The list goes on and on.

The funny thing is, these are the same people that would complain about the fact that the Pro Tools HD hardware is too old and it sounds bad!!!  So Avid finally does something about it, releases new hardware that is (supposedly) a big sonic improvement, and people still bitch about it.  You can’t win.  People will always find something to complain about.

I think being a cynical person just goes with the territory of being an engineer.  Granted, I know some that don’t fit that mold, but I know a LOT who do.  And as I’ve mentioned, the forums are about 80% crabby whiners.

Of course, I would be a hypocrite if I didn’t call myself out on it.  I’m totally guilty of these actions.  The state of the music industry, mp3, loudness war, studios going out of business, cheap audio gear, “engineers”  who aren’t engineers…….all things I have no problem telling people my opinion on.  However, I think most of these issues are important and shared by the culture at large.  Not as petty as complaining about the products a company releases.  If you don’t like it, don’t buy it.  Pretty simple.

So, you know what the irony of this whole post is don’t you?  I’m complaining about the complainers.  Imagine that.

Comments
  1. AV says:

    Audio forums are pretty hilarious. Lots of information/opinions, but it seems to me that those posters spend more time on the forums than in their “studios”.

  2. Eric Chancey says:

    I’m with you bro,we should form a club…….wait, we have! It’s called AES. By the way, Pro Tools HD does not make me sad.

Leave a Reply

